Lime

Lime

Parkroyal on Pickering

Lime serves international buffet at the new, pretty hotel called Parkroyal on Pickering. Though I am not a fan of buffet, thought it might be a good idea to have a meal at this new, cute hotel that has a really interesting architecture. For eg, the beams were shaped like rice padi terraces. It’s really a pity that we couldn’t get to the 5th floor as I believe there are much more creative designs and architectures up there as seen in other blogs.

Image

The buffet started pretty well when we were greeted by a green tea chocolate fondue. It’s my first time seeing a green tea choc fondue and as I have a soft spot for green tea, I got pretty hyped up over this buffet, and wanted to reach the dessert section asap. But, as we got through all the sections, there were more misses than hits I thought. Would just mention about the food that I enjoyed better.

ImageThai salad that were sour and spicy enough. Really whet my appetite and I kept helping myself to the mango and papaya salad. The pork and beef salad were pretty good too; the meat added a little bit of sweetness to the spicy, sour salad and also made it more savoury. You can eat it on its own but the toppings further enhance the taste and didn’t make it complicated. Really like this Thai station.

ImageThe seafood station had clams, mussels, prawns and oysters. Oysters looked really fresh and juicy but didn’t like the aftertaste as there was a fishy taste towards the end. As I always have this after taste when I eat oysters, I may not be a good judge. The prawns were however, fresh and succulent and if you find such boiled prawns bland and boring, you could be make it tastier by dipping it in wasabi soya sauce; similar to how cha soba works.

ImageThe sushi station was not bad but my favourite would be the octopus sushi. The texture and flavour of the rice is quite standard (like what you get at chains) but the octopus is indeed outstanding. Succulent, crunchy, juicy and thick, it’s one of the better octopus I had!

ImageAnd of course, not forgetting my own creation. I like my triple chocolate topped with green tea chocolate fondue and chocolate balls. The fondue hardened on the ice cream and felt like green tea choc bits with choc ice cream. You will taste the choc first, followed by the white chocolate and lastly the green tea if you eat it like that. A fun creation I thought but it’s quite logical that the taste goes in this order as the ice cream would melt in your mouth first while you slowly chew the hardened green tea chocolate.

Lime is a place worth visiting if you have a UOB card as 4 people get to dine for the price of three and if you want to check out this new hotel. We paid $52 per person. Felt that the food was slightly above average and I am still wowed by the green tea fondue. Guess that’s because I have a soft spot for green tea. Service was between above average and good, but not professionally good like what you get at Ritz Carlton or Mandarin Oriental and of course not Fullerton Bay, as I think it doesn’t belong to such high end hotels. To our dismay, there were flies hovering around our food and the cake station which slowly disappeared as it got later. Am quite baffled where did these flies come from and why do I not see them in other hotels. On the whole, I will recommend this buffet if it’s your first time there and if you are dining with 3 other friends with a UOB card.

One thought on “Lime

  1. Pingback: Equinox | foodolicious

Leave a Reply

