The Bar & Alfresco

The Bar & Alfresco

Four seasons Hotel Singapore

ImageOur three tier English tea

ImageRaspberry breton, yuzu cream. This should be one of the better pastries I think. The raspberries are fresh and pops in your mouth when you bite them. Refreshing I thought. However, I couldn’t taste the yuzu cream.

ImageRoasted Persimmon Crumble. My most favourite pastry out of the lot. I usually have apple crumble but this is the first time I’m having persimmon crumble. Crumble was fragrant and of the right size as too big a crumble would usually make one really full. Not overly buttery. I like how the persimmon slices intertwine with the crumble and so you know that you are eating persimmon crumble and not persimmon & crumble.

ImageBlackcurrent Macaroon. This macaroon wasn’t good I felt, crumbles immediately upon biting and its taste goes away so quickly. That’s why Laduree and Yauatcha (London) charge their macaroons at such exorbitant prices as almost no one is able to replicate such standards.

ImageMaine Lobster salad, citrus, pumpkin roll. One of my favourite savoury bites. Could immediately taste the lobster and you can see the bits of lobster meat in it. The seeds were really nice to chew on and the bread wasn’t dry at all.

ImageRoasted chicken salad on sable tart. I wasn’t able to guess what kinda meat is it as the cheese taste of the sable tart was overpowering. Had to look at the menu to know that its chicken. Quite a good savoury tart  but just felt that the tart masked the taste of the chicken salad.

ImageGreen tea Azuki Bean trifle. I thought I should really love this and it turned out to be just not bad for me. The red bean creamy portion was just a tad too sweet for me but other that this dish tasted fine. Green tea and azuki bean were smooth, and the green tea flavour was strong enough and you are also able to chew on the mashed azuki beans.

ImageBrown sugar shortbread, tea cakes and golden raisin scones. The raisin scones were fluffy, soft and moist in the centre and goes perfectly well with the clotted cream n jam or lemon curd. Liked how the raisin adds a fruity sweetness to the otherwise normal scone. Its brown sugar shortbread was perhaps a little too buttery. I thought it was fragrant but after having that, I was almost too full to have anything else.

There was so much buzz going on for four seasons high tea on Hungrygowhere. However, I just find it quite mediocre. Think they have already changed their menu as some of the things described there and some other food blogs are quite different from what I actually had. Do agree with them that the scones are marvellous but besides that the savoury and sweet pastries just tasted alright to me with some outstanding small dainty ones. Variety was a little limited I felt and really couldn’t be compared to the Landing point at Fullerton bay. However, its ambience made up for it I thought. For the price of $38++, I’m still not sure if it’s worth going though I know I would not visit it anytime soon again.

2 thoughts on “The Bar & Alfresco

  1. https://naturalgreencoffee.com says:

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.

    Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

Leave a Reply

