Bistro Soori

Bistro Soori

Teck Lim Road

When east meets west – Bistro Soori is a restaurant that serves asian fusion cuisine. It’s really interesting when you look through the menu and you see yuzu being used in a seemingly western dish or pandan (a southeast asian ingredient) in a western dessert. Such an interesting menu really perks me up and literally got me to imagine the taste before I ordered.

ImageAlaskan crab in a beautiful arrangement. Crab meat is fresh, springy and I like how the condiments bring out the freshness of the crab meat. Yums!

Image

Bread served warm always and I like how they mix their butter with salt and pepper. Quite a rare combination I thought but the pepper really went well with butter as it gives the butter a herb-like fragrance.

ImageScallops with pesto sauce. Seared on the outside and raw on the inside, this big fat chunk of scallop really has a good texture. Fragrant when you first taste it and feels really smooth when you start to chew on the springy inner flesh. Love this appetiser!

Image

Seared prawns with butter corn pudding at the bottom and yuzu. Actually, I wasn’t too sure if I tasted the yuzu but on the whole this dish is delectable. Prawns are definitely fresh and succulent and I like the corn pudding as you can taste bits of corn in it. And there’s spicy green chilli in it too. The ingredients are apparently fusion and I quite like the idea of not knowing what the taste would be by just plainly looking at the menu. Interesting indeed.

ImageLobster linguine. Nothing special here but the lobster meat is really springy and moist. The slightly seared outer layer makes it really fragrant. Did not like the linguine as much as I find the sauce a little too thick but on the whole, it’s really a good main course.

ImageTime for a fusion dessert – pandan souffle! Really tall and huge souffle when it was served. Collapsed really quickly and I had to quickly snap a shot of it. Love the relatively runny pandan egg white at the bottom and the zesty strawberry served as the sides. Very interesting combination for a souffle actually but the pandan makes it quite aromatic in its own way. Good way of combining south east asian flavours with western dessert.

ImageFinally, hot chocolate cake which has chocolate lava oozing out when cut. Quite a good dessert too.

On the whole, I am impressed by the relatively young chefs at bistro soori as you could never be able to imagine the taste of your food by just merely reading off from the menu. The taste may appear complicated initially but when you try it, you will find that they complement each other. I guess in fusion cooking, you need to be smart in choosing your ingredients from different parts of the world that are distinct yet still able to complement each other to produce a masterpiece. Bistro Soori did it and I am hoping to see more of such restaurant as it may be the only or strongest category of cuisine that is able to come up with new flavours and excitement. Spent a total of $76 and service was good. GST is already included in the menu and so the bill felt more ‘transparent’. Love this place and wouldn’t mind visiting it again sometime!

3 thoughts on “Bistro Soori

  1. Cheap Jerseys3 says:

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

