Fu Sing Shark Fin Seafood Restaurant 富聲魚翅海鮮酒家

Fu Sing Shark Fin Seafood Restaurant

1/F, Sunshine Plaza, No. 353 Lockhart Road, Wan Chai

Nearest MTR: Causeway Bay

IMG_6302And so on the last day of my HK trip, Christmas day itself, I decided to visit Fu Sing Restaurant that is highly recommended by Singaporeans working in Hong Kong according to my other friend. Upon stepping into the restaurant, you would feel that it’s a super cantonese restaurant – The banter of the conversations all in Cantonese and the closely packed tables and chairs to maximise the holding capacity of the restaurant. I guess this is the characteristic of a Cantonese restaurant and you really don’t get there anywhere, not even in dim sum crazy Singapore. I was lucky to have gotten J to make a reservation for me as it was sooooo packed and the queue was snaking long. I always find making reservations with this kinda restaurants more stressful and always need a local or hotel staff to make it for me.

IMG_6304So I got the prawn with fried beancurd cheung fen. This is my all time favourite after I first had it at Yauatcha, the one Michelin restaurant in London. I also managed to only find one restaurant serving this in Singapore, that is Imperial Treasure Super Peking Duck. Super succulent prawns wrapped in the fragrantly fried, crispy and thin beancurd skin. This makes the fillings taste more substantial. Cheung fen is also slithery, thin and goes really well with their soy sauce.

IMG_6305Thick noodles with fish maw. A very delectable bowl of noodles and is a little different from the usual stir fried noodles that we usually get at canto restaurants. The noodles tasted like our Mee Pok actually (flat yellow noodles). Gravy is thick, yet not too viscous and aromatic. The noodles were of the right springy texture and tasted Q while the fish maw is really soft and soothing. Doesn’t have the oily aftertaste too. Yums!

IMG_6306The lor ba gou or turnip cake. It’s my first time having a slightly fried turnip cake. There are two layers I think and the bottle layer is the cake which tastes delicious and smooth but not gooey. I really don’t have much idea what is the top layer made of but it makes this lor ba gou very interesting and taste is definitely not one dimensional. The flaky crust is also crispy. A good order!

IMG_6307Then I got the special snacks, instead of curry yu dan and cuttlefish, I got the satay yu dan (fishball) and cuttlefish. Fishball tasted firm and cuttlefish only tasted springy for some slices while the others are too soft I felt. I am O.K. with this dish and satay sauce isn’t really the type of satay taste we have in Singapore as it is a bit sweeter. Just like how their curry yu dan doesn’t taste similar to Singapore’s curry.

IMG_6308The har gao was a hit! Thin translucent skin with really fresh crunchy prawns. They are really generous in their fillings I feel and that makes the har gao really delicious.

IMG_6309Malay gou was soft and fluffy but not as fragrant as that of Tim Ho Wan in Singapore or Hong Kong as I guess no coconut is used here.

IMG_6310Fish maw with prawns dumplings. This was another interesting dim sum and works for me too. Fish maw was smooth and really soft again and together with the crunchy prawn filling above it, it’s a unique combination of texture. The broth underneath it is also very intense in seafood flavour and is quite sweet I thought in the savoury sense.

IMG_6311

IMG_6312And yes, the snow skin char siew bao again. I thought this was a little better than Tim Ho Wan Bedok Singapore actually as you know that you are chewing on chunky Char siew. The Char Siew bits in Tim Ho Wan is a little too small or little which makes them feel less substantial. The sauce was also of the right sweetness and skin was also of the right thickness I felt. The skin here is a little more similar to Tim Ho Wan than the more upmarket Tin Lung Heen I visited the day before.

IMG_6314

So after the last dim sum lunch at Fu Sing, I feel that Singaporeans really have a penchant for food as this restaurant proved to be good really! There were a few misses but more hits actually. Creativity is definitely displayed in the types of dim sum served here at Fu Sing restuarant, such as the very interesting fish maw noodles, lor ba gou and fish maw with prawn dumplings. I guess every restaurant would have their own rendition of dim sum and the chef at Fu Sing is daring yet spot on when it comes to introducing new combinations of tastes. Price here is very reasonable too and it costs up to HKD $590 for these dishes for three people. We were stuffed at the end of the meal and it really isn’t expensive, considering that portions are super huge for each plate compared to the portions in Singapore which is slightly smaller. Also, you must be at least good in your chinese to be able to read most of the words on the dim sum ordering list as there isn’t any pictures for you. I realised that you just need to care about the last three or two words to know what you are actually ordering as the first few descriptive words are usually included to make the dish look more fanciful. That’s how I got around ordering their dim sum which would otherwise take me hours! Service here definitely isn’t as good as Lung King Heen or Tin Lung Heen as you pay much lesser too. Patience is required as food doesn’t come that quickly as the restaurant is too huge. Would I recommend this restaurant for a weekend relaxing dim sum? Yes, I would indeed!

Verdict: A good restaurant.

 

One thought on “Fu Sing Shark Fin Seafood Restaurant 富聲魚翅海鮮酒家

Leave a Reply

